Back to normal now..

Firstly I must apologise for the length of time that has elapsed since the last post, however there wasn’t much to report during the first week at home other than jet lag, and well before I knew it everything was back to normal and I just hadn’t had the chance to update you all!  

Since returning home I’ve been getting back into the public speaking, starting with a talk at a local school, Wallasey High school to the teachers before school reopened for the start of term. I went along with a lady called Gaby Crolla who is the local Physical Educational advisor for the Wirral Borough council.  She was talking about how local schools can get involved with the London 2012 Olypmics and the Paralympics.  I went along as an athlete who is represnting my country in my sport and striving to get to the Paralympics. 

I have also given a talk to another Slimming World Group who during the 12 week slimathon campaign had elected another chartity to support. However since then they had raised funds for me and asked that I go along to give a talk to the group,  but with a couple of friends in this group along with my Mum, this had to be the hardest talk to date. 

I’ve had a visit from Bob Saunders (who has previously done a job similar to Gaby) again to show me how he has got long with the DVD that he is making for primary school assemblies. I now have numerous dates in the diary to go into local primary schools with Bob to answer questions from the kids! The main point we are looking to get across to the younger children is taking the “t” out of “can’t”.

We’ve also had a visit from Fevermedia last week, a company putting together a programme for the BBC called Rememberance Week, which will be shown the week leading up to Rememberance Sunday at 9.15am! In a nutshell the show will cover personal stories from soldiers who have served in conflicts since the WW2, last year they focused on Mark Ormrod and hs wife Becky and how they dealt with life since his injuries (Mark was the first triple amputee from the Afghan conflict). Laura and I spent most of the day with the team recording interviews, some holding footage and other bits and pieces. We were even treated to a pub lunch, so thank you to Hiral and Caroline for that!

I have also been into my soon to be mother in law’s place of work to have a chat with her fellow co-workers.  The agency held a dress down day along with a cake sale (thank you for the lemon drizzle cake, it was lovely!) and I was asked to go along during lunch time to be available for anyone who wanted to know more about the money raising cause! 

Amongst all these things I’ve been getting back into training, going to the gym once or twice a week, swimming and also skiing at Chill Factore in Manchester at least once a week as well.  I’m hoping to get some organised training arranged with DSUK so that I will be able to ski two or three times a week on the run up to the start of the season.

On a completely different topic, Laura and I have also been trying (inbetween all the other bits and pieces) to get organised for our little ones arrival starting with parentcraft classes, tours of the labour and maternity wards at our local hospital and other such things! 

I have a number of thank you’s this week, starting with the Slimming World Class for helping me with additional sponsor funds,  my mother in laws company for their involvment in helping me get to Russia in 2014 and also to a very special couple. Kevin and Shirley Simpson contacted me earlier in the year about raising funds for me to help me with my Sochi dream. Due to celebrate their Golden Wedding Anniversary they decided they did not want gifts from friends and family, but for a contribution to be made to myself. I was fortunate to meet Kevin this week and receive a very generous cheque from him, so to Kevin and Shirley and your considerate family members, thank you so very much!

 

About Pete The Feet

A Bootneck (if you dont know try and find out) who had a life changing moment one Sunday afternoon in Afghanistan. Now I have a new life and along with the new life comes new ambitions. I've represented my Queen and country in the line of fire and now I want to try and do the same at the Paralympics, And this is my road to Sochi, Russia 2014....
This entry was posted in Events and fundraising. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment