Back to work and clocking up the miles!

It appears that yet another apology is in order, it’s been far too long since I last blogged to you all. Let’s just say day to day living has been taking up a lot of my time recently as well as fitting in the gym sessions, meetings and training camps around the country.

As you know I was in Holland towards the end of May which was closely followed by a family holiday to Portugal. Laura’s parents came with us which meant that we had a break every day from being Mummy and Daddy, it was nice to take some time out, and see some sunshine!

Since returning home it’s been busy, busy, busy. Our daughter Ava was christened at the same church that Laura and I were married in only a few months before.

But then it was back to reality; starting with an invite to be Key note speaker at Allocate Software Healthcare Usergroup in York. I addressed the Usergroup about my journey, from injury to athlete and all the bits that have happened in between. The response was overwhelming and I was privileged to be invited to the Allocate Software awards evening that was held in the National Rail Museum. So thank you to Clive Jecks for putting my name forward for that event.

The following day Laura and I were guests at Haydock Races for a Carers Trust fundraiser.   Our table was made up of injured service personnel and their carers and we had a good day, especially as the wins on the horses kept rolling in. Laura and I would like to thank Sally Mendonca of CSDST for putting our names forward for the tickets in her absence.

I have received the new seat for my mono-ski last week courtesy of Qinetiq and Tencate; as with anything new it’s a case of getting used to it, and learning how to get the best out of the piece of kit. A lot of hard work and effort has gone in to delivering the seat so I hope to be able to make that worthwhile for all concerned.

Supacat (CSDST donors) were involved with a defence vehicle display and the team received an invite to attend to seek out further sponsorship, network and show how military suppliers are sharing their skills with the team. Supacat have very kindly looked at the suspension on the mono skis over the years to ensure that we are getting the best of out of our equipment and therefore get the best race finishes. It was great to attend and Scorgie (CSDST coach) and I were fortunate enough to bump into old team mate, Martin Hewitt who you will probably all know from Walking With The Wounded fame.

It was a busy week, what with collecting my new seat in Hemel, the Supacat event in Woburn and then a return to Snow Centre Hemel Hempstead for the first of the summer training camps with the British Disabled Ski Team. The camp took in technical slalom training, and for me getting used to the new seat. It was a worthwhile weekend and I’m now looking forward to the next training camp with CSDST in Holland which will see more slalom technical training taking place.

The rest of this week sees me taking part in cultural workshops surrounding the Olympics/Paralympics with local schools and presenting at an awards evening in Mansfield. I’ll return to you all when I get back from the next training camp with an update on my progress, fitness and how I’m getting on with the new seat.

To sign off, firstly I need to thank Mark Scorgie for taking the time out with me last week to test out the new seat and secondly I think it’s time to move to a more “professional” looking website. My wordpress blog has done me well but with the Winter Paralympics fast approaching and my after dinner speaking/motivational speaking taking up so much of my time I’m looking to set up a website. However at the moment I’m trying to find a web designer who is able to help me with reasonable costs to set the site up – if you think you can help please shout! 

About Pete The Feet

A Bootneck (if you dont know try and find out) who had a life changing moment one Sunday afternoon in Afghanistan. Now I have a new life and along with the new life comes new ambitions. I've represented my Queen and country in the line of fire and now I want to try and do the same at the Paralympics, And this is my road to Sochi, Russia 2014....
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment